The Cup – C. J. Mahaney

Posted: 07/25/2008 in Videos
Tags: ,

Comments
  1. Shea says:

    “You cannot accompany Jesus in Gethsemane and arise unaffected by your sin”

    What a thought! What a reminder of the seriousness of our sin.

    Thanks for the post!

  2. littleservant says:

    So many people seem to think that what horrified Jesus in the garden was crucifixion. But crucifixion was not the just penalty for my sin, hell was. And I appreciate the way Mahaney reminds me that it was not merely the thought of bearing the sins of others that so staggered Jesus in the garden, and almost killed him, it was the thought of bearing the Father’s wrath for MY sin: my pride, my selfishness! And yet Jesus went on to bear that very wrath. How then can I still cherish and protect such sins. May it never be!

  3. Tim says:

    Thanks be to God that when Jesus looked into the horror of that cup and saw the sins of all mankind; knowing that drinking the full cup was to drink the full cup of God’s wrath against sin… our sin… my sin, yet He did it! I don’t think any of us could even begin to imagine the horror He felt, the total abandonment that He felt… And something we can’t begin to comprehend… a great paradox the abandonment from His Father during those three hours of total darkness on the cross, yet the unity of the trinity was never broken! I’m so thankful for those words … “Not My will but your will be done!”
    Thnk you C.J. for always bringing me back to what important.

Leave a Reply

