Quote of the Day #27 – C. S. Lewis

Posted: 12/16/2008 in Quote of the day
Tags: , ,

cs“We must not suppose that if we succeeded in making everyone nice we should have saved their souls. A world of nice people, content in their own niceness, looking no further, turned away from God, would be just as desperately in need of salvation as a miserable world. “

– C.S. Lewis

Indeed all have sinned, and have fallen short of the glory of God, yes, all have gone astray like sheep. Behold the Lamb of God who has taken away the sins of the world. Praise be to the Lamb who has washed our hypocritical hearts. Give us humble hearts that boast only in the grace of God.

Comments
  1. Colby Bardin says:

    Is this from one of his books?

  2. Honestly I can’t remember where I got this quote from… I don’t think I found it in one of his books (though it probably is from one of them) because I haven’t read from him in quite some time… I might be from “Respectable Sins” by Jerry Bridges because I was reading that at that time. But I’m really not sure. I should have quoted the source, my bad.

  3. Tim Hahne says:

    Unfortunately hell will be filled with many nice people… The heart needs reformation and only the Gospel can do that.

Leave a Reply

