John Newton on God’s Providence

Posted: 02/21/2009 in Quote of the day
Tags: , , , , ,

John Newton

John Newton

...if all things are in His hand, if the very hairs of our head are numbered; if every event, great and small, is under the direction of His providence and purpose; and if He has a wise, holy and gracious end in view, to which everything that happens is subordinate and subservient; – then we have nothing to do, but with patience and humility to follow as He leads, and cheerfully to expect a happy issue…. How happy are they who can resign all to Him, see His hand in every dispensation, and believe that He chooses better for them than they possibly could for themselves.”

– John Newton (taken from Jerry Bridges book Respectable Sins)

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    I really like that quote, because it says so well what I believe these days, that everything happens because God wishes it to. How much easier it is to navigate this life when we know God is in control. I don’t worry about the economy, or who is elected president, or my bills that need to get paid. I don’t worry because I know God has it under control. Yes, I think about what is best for the world, the country, and the economy, but I don’t lose sleep over it. And yes, I may have tough times to live through, but I know I’m being taught something for the future…if I’m smart enough to listen and learn.

  2. J. C. Hahne says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this Quote. Indeed we have a gracious God who governs all things according to His will. We partake of His lovingkindness in all things as they all come from HIm. What incredible peace He brings!

    God bless you!
    Joey

Leave a Reply

