Calvin Quoted #3 – Resembling God

Posted: 03/22/2009 in Calvin Quotes, Devotions
Tags: , , , , ,

john-calvin1

There is nothing in which men resemble God more truly than in doing good to others.”

– John Calvin

It isn’t faithfully reading the Bible, praying, going to church, etc. No, it’s doing good to others. You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” Matthew 22:39. This is the very way Jesus lived.

If Jesus Christ told us, “Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father” (John 14:9), then when we love, doing good to others, as Christ did, we thus resemble God and bring glory to His name. Jesus continued saying, “The words I say to you are not just my own. Rather, it is the Father, living in me, who is doing his work.” (John 14:10) The Father living in Jesus did His work, namely laying down His life for sinners, through serving, healing, and dying. Thi is what it means to be Godlike… Loving others, doing good to others, for He is love. He is Good!

Comments
  1. 성현도사 says:

    I used this image in my post. So I leave this message in here. If you mind, please tell me ‘No’ at my blog. Thank you. ^_^

Leave a Reply

