John Piper – Ever-Existing, Never-Becoming, Always-Perfect

Posted: 07/06/2009 in Devotions
Tags: , , , ,

This morning I was reading from Bob Kauflin’s book Worship Matters and I came across this wonderful quote by John Piper on the the ever-existing, always-perfect God. So here ya go…

From all eternity the ever-existing, never-becoming, always-perfect God has known Himself and loved what He knows. He has eternally seen His beauty and savored what He sees. His understanding of his own reality is flawless and His exuberance in enjoying it is infinite. He has no needs, for He has no imperfections. He has no inclinations to evil because He has no deficiencies that could tempt Him to do wrong. He is therefore the holiest and happiest being that is or can be conceived…. To share the experience – the experience of knowing and enjoying His glory- is the reason God created the world.”

– John Piper

I praise God that He has redeemed me to learn of His greatness. I await the day when hope becomes reality and my eyes will see and my mind will conceive His glory. I await the day when sin and its deception are done away with as I behold the glory of the LORD.

Comments
  1. Derick says:

    Amen to that!

    1 John 3:2 “Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is.”

    Our future and full independence from sin and uniting with Christ is an independence day really worth celebrating.

  2. J. C. Hahne says:

    Well said… If we shall see Him as He is, the things of this world will truly be as rubbish. Can’t wait.

  3. Travis Wright says:

    worship matters is one of the best books I think I’ve ever read. great quote!

  4. littleservant says:

    Halfway down the paragraph I knew it was John Piper. God has given him such a gift to be able to explain stuff. Wow.

  5. Tim Hahne says:

    I find it both amazing and almost unbelievable that God would allow us to be part of this experience. It only shows us the depth of His love for His children

Leave a Reply

