Quote of the Day #26 – Adoniram Judson

Posted: 11/17/2008 in Quote of the day
Tags: , , ,

225px-adoniram_judson1“If I had not felt certain that every additional trial was ordered by infinite love and mercy, I could not have survived my accumulated sufferings.”

Adoniram Judson (first American foreign missionary)

Judson served in what was formerly called Burma, bringing the Gospel to unreached peoples. His view of Calvinism and the sovereignty of God was what sustained him in the midst of stormy trials.

“And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28

Comments
  1. Shea says:

    I think this is the guy who wrote “My Jesus I Love Thee”. Great quote!

  2. Tim says:

    This is something every Christian needs to remember, and if we do there will surly be a lot less grumbling and a lot more heartfelt worship of our glorious God… Always good to remember those great truths that help us to keep things in proper prospective.

  3. Janie says:

    Regarding Shea’s comment, Adoniram Judson did NOT write “My Jesus I Love Thee.” It was, however, written by A. J. Gordon (whose name for Adoniram Judson (initians A.J.) A great missionary. I just wrote an article about him.l

  4. piang pu says:

    He is the first missionary to Burma which is my country…Thanks you so much…

  5. Judson Batin says:

    This quote from Adoniram Judson tell us that he is at the same catagory with prophet Paul, when Paul stated that ” when I am weak; than I am strong”. Judson and Paul are both man of God, who died just for the sake of a Gosple of Christ !

Leave a comment